Once upon a time in Indo

Once upon a time in Indo

Nine minutes of pure surfing searching for the best swells at Desert Point, Lakey Peak with Pedro Boonman

Puerto on fire

Puerto on fire

William Aliotti and Charly Martin escape the Atlantic flat spell and go and charge a solid Mexican swell.

They scored big time with local’s calling it all time Puerto on fire. Judge for yourself !”

Carve 2021 Surf Photography Comp

Carve 2021 Surf Photography Comp

Last years winning shot by Cristina Freeth


We are extremely proud of our British, Irish surfers and photographers here at Carve. They capture once in a lifetime moments of offshore perfection, groomed lines and those priceless moments of stoke that enrich our lives. In honour of this we are running the fourth Carve Surf Photo Competition.

The finalists will have their shots printed in Carve 209 and we will be picking the best photos to be printed in a full feature.

We will be annoucing all the entry details and prizes in the next week or so online and through our socials.

Have your cameras/shots at the ready, we can’t wait to see your creative work.

Team Carve.

Below: Money Trees, making it rain. Grajagan, Indonesia Photo: Myles McGuinness

Got to run these because law. – No cash alternatives to the prize. By entering you agree to allow Carve (Orca Publications) using your photo in the mag and online (You will be credited or tagged when we do). No one else will use your photo. We will contact those in the final selection directly. We can’t answer all messages or emails so bear with us.

Carve Magazine Issue 208

Carve Magazine Issue 208

Carve Surfing Magazine

Carve Magazine Issue 208

The new issue is out. You can get it delivered to door for by hitting this link here.

It literally saved me
Welcome to another packed issue of Carve. In here you will find tales from all corners of Britain and Ireland. One story that particularly stands out for me personally is that of my long-time friend Kwab. It’s a story I have kept with me for many years. I used to stay with Kwab when he was running a hostel in Bundoran, but we kind of lost touch. I wasn’t sure what had happened, but one day I got a message. It turned out a few things in his life had got on top of him and he needed help. He ended up in a secure psychiatric ward, very depressed. Then one day a friend of his took him a Carve mag. He read it from cover to cover and right then decided to change his life. “It literally saved me,” he told me. “It was like a full-on jolt back to reality! I kept it with me and it was like my anchor. It reminded me of who I was and why I needed to get out of there!” Kwab now runs surf charters on his boat ‘Jiwa’, and teaches meditation and free diving in Indonesia. He is literally living the dream. I can’t tell you how happy this makes me, or how stoked I am that he has shared his story in this issue. “If it helps even one person take a different road, then it’s worth it,” he says. We are living through a historic period right now, and the pandemic has affected a lot of people very differently. Hopefully we have filled this issue with enough inspiring stories and people to fire up your stoke and get you out there. Maybe on a new twinny handpicked from our guide!


Steve Editor


Surfing’s debut at Tokyo 2020

Surfing’s debut at Tokyo 2020

Surfing has arrived at the doorstep of the Olympic Games, set to make its debut appearance at Tokyo 2020.

Here are the 10 things you need to know about this historic moment for the sport.

1. Duke’s dream

Hawaii’s Duke Kahanamoku, an Olympic Gold Medalist swimmer and the father of modern surfing, first dreamt of surfing’s inclusion more than a century ago.

At the 1912 Olympic Games in Stockholm, Duke expressed his wish for his beloved sport of surfing to be included in the Games. Recent revelations have even suggested that Duke may have put on a surfing display for the spectators in Stockholm.

After a 20+ year campaign led by ISA President Fernando Aguerre, in 2016 the IOC approved the inclusion of Surfing in the Olympic Games. Duke’s dream was fulfilled.

2. Who’s competing?

20 men and 20 women have made history and become the first Olympic surfers. With athletes hailing from all 5 continents and 18 different countries, the first wave of Olympic surfers will represent the truly global nature of the sport.

See the list of qualified surfers here.

3. Where to watch

Use this tool to see where you can watch the Olympics action live in your country.

For viewers in the USA, all the Surfing competition will be available on NBCOlympics.com and the NBC Sports App with TV provider authentication.

4. The Matchups

The first round of surfing at Tokyo 2020 will be non-elimination and feature 5 heats of 4 surfers each. See the heat draws and progression here.

Tsurigasaki beach will host the world’s best surfers for Tokyo 2020. Photo: The Surf News

5. The Venue

The competition will take place at Tsurigasaki beach in the Chiba Prefecture east of Tokyo. Tsurigasaki is known as one of the most consistent breaks in the country, providing quality, sand-bottom peaks between two jetties.

6. Social Media

The ISA will be posting live updates from the competition on social media. Follow along on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. Don’t forget to use the official hashtags #StrongerTogether, #Olympics, and #Tokyo2020.

Facebook: International Surfing Association
Instagram: @ISAsurfing
Twitter: @ISAsurfing
YouTube: @ISAsurfing
Tiktok: @isasurfing

Ramzi Boukhiam will fly the flag of Morocco at Surfing’s Olympic debut. Photo: ISA / Pablo Jimenez

7. Follow along on isasurf.org & Olympics.com

The ISA will be updating the official event page with photos, news, schedules, athlete rosters, and event info. View here.

Real-time surfing results will also be available on the Games’ official website here.

8. The Schedule

The Surfing competition window will run from July 25 to August 1, with the event taking place according to the conditions. If conditions permit, the competition could run in as few as 4 days.

9. Surfing’s Qualification System

The 40 Olympic surfers qualified through a system that included 4 events: The 2019 WSL Championship Tour (CT), the 2021 and 2019 ISA World Surfing Games, and the Lima 2019 Pan Am Games.

Learn more about Surfing’s Olympic Qualification System here.

10. Paris 2024 and beyond

Surfing has already begun the first steps for creating a long-term runway for permanent inclusion in the Games. The IOC has already confirmed that Surfing will be included in the Paris 2024 Games, with the competition taking place in Tahiti.

The ISA plans to push for Surfing’s inclusion in the LA 2028 Games and beyond to make its youthful energy and high performance values a staple of the Olympics.