Women’s Opening Round 1 Starts At 7:30 (BRT)
Men’s Opening Round 1 and Women’s Elimination Round To Follow
Watch LIVE at WorldSurfLeague.com

The Oi Rio Pro Presented by Corona, Stop No. 8 on the World Surf League (WSL) 2022 Championship Tour (CT), is ON with the women’s and men’s Opening Rounds followed by the women’s Elimination Round in 4 to 6 foot waves at Praia de Itaúna, Saquarema.

Brisa Hennessy (CRI) will be up against Lakey Peterson (USA) and Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA) when competition starts in the first heat of the Women’s Opening Round 1. Weston-Webb will have the crowd support behind her, but Peterson has been on fire and will look to continue her momentum after a runner-up finish in El Salvador.

Sol Aguirre (PER) will be competing in her first-ever CT competition in Heat 2 against rankings leader Carissa Moore (HAW) and Courtney Conlogue (USA).

João Chianca (BRA) returns to competition as the men’s event wildcard and will be up against Griffin Colapinto (USA) and Matthew McGillivray (ZAF) in Heat 2.

Former event winner and current rankings leader, Filipe Toledo (BRA) will be up in Heat 4 of the men’s Opening Round against Samuel Pupo (BRA) and injury replacement Miguel Tudela (PER).

Oi Rio Pro Presented by Corona Women’s Opening Round 1 Matchups:
HEAT 1: Brisa Hennessy (CRI), Lakey Peterson (USA), Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA)
HEAT 2: Carissa Moore (HAW), Courtney Conlogue (USA), Sol Aguirre (PER)
HEAT 3: Johanne Defay (FRA), Isabella Nichols (AUS), Caroline Marks (USA)
HEAT 4: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Tyler Wright (AUS), Gabriela Bryan (HAW)

Oi Rio Pro Presented by Corona Men’s Opening Round 1 Matchups:
HEAT 1: Italo Ferreira (BRA), Kolohe Andino (USA), Yago Dora (BRA)
HEAT 2: Griffin Colapinto (USA), Matthew McGillivray (ZAF), João Chianca (BRA)
HEAT 3: Jack Robinson (AUS), Jake Marshall (USA), Michael Rodrigues (BRA)
HEAT 4: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Samuel Pupo (BRA), Miguel Tudela (PER)
HEAT 5: Kanoa Igarashi (JPN), Connor O’Leary (AUS), Gabriel Medina (BRA)
HEAT 6: Ethan Ewing (AUS), Jordy Smith (ZAF), Jackson Baker (AUS)
HEAT 7: Callum Robson (AUS), Caio Ibelli (BRA), Jadson Andre (BRA)
HEAT 8: Barron Mamiya (HAW), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Nat Young (USA)

For more information, please visit WorldSurfLeague.com.