Day 1 edit

Day 2 edit

Finals Day

Congratulations to all the winner at the 2018 Caravan and Motorhome Club English National Surfing Championships supported by Korev Lager

Fun surf and sometimes sunny weather.

The elite of English surfing descended upon the blue ocean and expansive sands of Watergate Bay in Cornwall over this last bank holiday. With 170+ entries across 19 divisions, from 8 years old to mid 50’s, shortboard to longboard, the event had it all and the forecast was delivering the goods! With a consistent swell predicted to extend throughout the event, light winds and sunshine, could this be to good to be true? Well, it’s England, so yes of course it was, so as the thick sea fog engulfed the coastlines the competition began and the surfers rose to the challenge.

Competition was fierce throughout day one and day two as twin peaks ran simultaneously to give the surfers their 20 minutes to shine amongst the fog, with half of each heat progressing and half exiting. Days were made and dreams were shattered as surfers competed to make their respective finals in search of the coveted English champion titles. Event partners provided the relaxed competition areas with DJ’s for entertainment, sponsors on hand to engage and enjoy the company of the friendly surfers and deck chairs for the bank holiday vibes. The event also gave an annual opportunity for our community and members to come together and engage with Surfing England and enjoy the opportunities we bring to celebrate our sport.

Finals day was just like any good swell, it built and delivered, as each division took to the water and put their skills to work, navigating the sea, exploring the line up and laying down their best manoeuvres in the 3-4ft high tide pealing waves of Cornwall. Then before long the premiere women’s division open surfers took to the water and Lucy Campbell fought off her competitors to retain her title. The men’s open final was described by some after as one of the most progressive, high quality and electrifying finals to come out of England in decades, and sure most on the beach would agree. As Reubyn Ash took to the air, Will Bailey power hacked, Luke Dillon chucked buckets and Miles Lee-Hargreaves rotated above the lip to the joy of all watching, the judges had non stop action to officiate over and in the end Reubyn took the win to retain his champion title.

Surfing England would like to thank all who came, all who surfed, the staff and officials, the sponsors and the supporters, for being a part of a joyous event to remember.

Reubyn Ash is now three times English champion.

Mens Open sponsored by Stance
1 Reubyn Ash 2 Luke Dillon 3 Will Bailey 4 Miles Lee-Hargreaves

Womens Open sponsored by Jolly Brown
1 Lucy Campbell 2 Ellen Harding 3 Emily Currie 4 Tassy Swallow

Under 18 Girls sponsored by O’Neill
1 Lily Pierce 2 Amy Dyer 3 Mischa Maguire 4 Lily Mandeville

Under 18 Boys sponsored by O’Neill
1 Seth Morris 2 Will Gale 3 Stanley Norman 4 Kamron Matthews

Under 12 Boys sponsored by 110% Surfing Techniques
1 Lukas Skinner 2 Heath Giilespie 3 Nikita Petrov 4 Arthur Randell

Under 12 Girls sponsored by 110% Surfing Techniques
1 Lauren Sandland 2 Eva Blackford 3 Belle Betteridge 4 Sienna Morison

Under 14 Girls
1 Tegan Blackford 2 Asha Sykes

Under 14 Boys
1 Sam Hearn 2 Max Miller Cooley 3 Alex Townsend 4 Kieron Smith

Boys Longboard Under 18 sponsored by Gul
1 Jordan Zervas 2 Lloyd Stein 3 Barnaby Innes 4 Arthur Randell

Girls Longboard Under 18 sponsored by Gul
1 Emily Wells 2 Stella Briggs 3 Tegan Blackford 4 Annie Young

Womens Masters
1 Jenny Pendlebury 2 Andrea Lawrence 3 Ingrid Morrison

Mens Masters
1 Rob Watson 2 Sam Smart 3 Joel Gray 4 Andrew Stone

Womens Open Longboard sponsored by Gul
1 Emily Currie 2 Beth Leighfield 3 Jenny Briant 4 Tina Beresford

Mens Open Longboard sponsored by Gul
1 Adam Griffiths 2 Sam Bleakley 3 Ben Howey 4 Lewis Stritch

Under 16 Girls sponsored by O’Neill
1 Francesca Sayer 2 Bonita Whitelock 3 Iris Tanner 4 Esmee Gregorius 5 Bo Niblett

Under 16 Boys sponsored by O’Neill
1 Will Masterman 2 Maximilian Hudson 3 Sol Hawkins 4 Noah Capps

Mens Seniors
1 Josh Ward 2 Joss Ash 3 Luke Embleton 4 Adam Alexander Parkinson
Veterans Open
1 Mike Young 2 Roger Knight 3 David Gander 4 Darren Burrett