The esteemed UK Pro Surf Awards ceremony took place at The Carnmarth Hotel, Newquay Sunday 26 November. 2017 UKPST Champions were crowned and awards given.

A familiar cast of courtly-dressed surfers celebrated a successful year on the UK’s Professional surfing tour with the Surf industry leaders for an evening of food, music and most importantly the award presentations.

The awards encompass all divisions from our Junior competitors to the Men’s and Women’s Open divisions including some additional awards representative of all corners of the UK scene alongside charitable organisations such as The Wave Project, Christian Surfers & Groundswell.

This year Fistral Beach gave £5,000 Reubyn Ash, the winner of the Open division, to help him compete internationally through the next competitive season. The largest sum UKPSA has passed onto a UK Professional surfer. The aim now is to provide incentive in other divisions on the tour.

Lucy Campbell took the Womens divisions, Patrick Langdon Dark led a great charge by the Welsh and took the under 18 mens, and Mischa Maguire the under 18 girls. Stephen Hudson was posthumously awarded UKPSA Services to the Sport of Surfing.

The UKPST took on even greater significance this year with the decision not to run the British Nationals.

Surf Awards

Rookie of the Year 2017
Patrick Langdon-Dark

Liteworx Most Improved Surfer 2017
Winner: Sam Hearn

Korev Surfers Choice Award 2016
Winner: Reubyn Ash

Freerider Surf Ambassador
Anthony Butler

UKPSA Best Surf Judge 2017
Kerry Powell

Christian Surfers Most Inspirational Surfer Award 2017
Mike Durkin

UKPSA Services to the Sport of Surfing 2017
Steve Hudson

Surfing Sumo Best Surf School
Tynemouth Surf School

UKPSA Champions

Under 12 Open Champion 2017
Winner: Eli Perrins-Davies

Under 14 Girls Champion 2017
Winner: Alys Barton

Under 14 Boys Champion 2017
Winner: Sam Hearn

Under 16 Girls Champion 2017
Winner: Alys Barton

Under 16 Boys Champion 2017
Winner: Noah Capps

Under 18 Girls Champion 2017
Winner Mischa Maguire

Fistral Beach Under 18 Boys 2017
Winner: Patrick Langdon Dark

Women’s Champion 2017
Lucy Campbell

Open Champion 2017
Reubyn Ash

Wave Project Awards

Young Volunteer of the Year: Seb Harrington

Volunteer of the Year: Brian Young

Surf School of the Year: iSURF

Disabled Surfer of the Year: Maisie Robins

The Wave Project Courage Award: Tamara Cormack

Photos: Andy Holter / UKPSA