Vans Triple Crown

Vans Triple Crown

Open registration for the month-long Vans Triple Crown of Surfing featuring iconic surf breaks Haleiwa, Sunset and Pipeline opens November 15, 2021 on

Vans, the original action sports brand and global icon of creative expression, makes a triumphant return to Hawaii this winter to uphold the legacy of the 2021 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing as a digital platform, and build upon the future of surfing on the North Shore of Oahu, evolving the iconic Pipe Masters to become a global Invitational event in 2022.

“Over the last century, the North Shore has defined high performance surfing and Vans has had the privilege of being an active participant in surf culture through the Triple Crown of Surfing. In this futuristic world of surfing, Vans looks ahead to challenge conventional competition in order to progress surf event criteria and inspire the next generation of surfers,” said Scott Sisamis, Director of Global Sports Marketing at Vans. “We want to celebrate the creative expression, inclusivity and freedom that surfing offers by continuing to elevate opportunities that empower surfing’s premier talent both in Hawaii and from around the world.”

The Vans Triple Crown of Surfing

Reintroduced in 2020 as a digital competition series, the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing earned critical praise for its innovative format and the series will now be permanently hosted as an online series.

The Vans Triple Crown of Surfing will run for four weeks from December 21, 2021 – January 21, 2022, at its three historic surf venues, and award individual event titles to men and women at the Vans Hawaiian Pro (Haleiwa), the Vans World Cup of Surfing (Sunset Beach), and the Vans Pipe Masters (Banzai Pipeline), as well as crown overall Vans Triple Crown series champions.

Men and women winners of the digital Vans Pipe Masters and overall Vans Triple Crown Champions will earn a seed into the inaugural Pipe Masters Invitational event in 2022.

The Vans Triple Crown of Surfing continues to strengthen its bonds with the Hawaiian community by integrating local businesses, expanding community participation, and giving back to the deep roots of Hawaii’s local surf culture. This year, 100% of competitor entry fees will be matched by Vans and returned as community program givebacks to local, non-profit organisations including: Na Kama Kai, Sustainable Coastlines Hawaii and the North Shore Community Land Trust.

Vans Pipe Masters Evolves to Invitational

As part of a new chapter for surfing, Vans has reimagined the Pipe Masters to create a Live specialty invitational event that fuels innovation, inclusivity, and progression, while aiming to showcase both men and women specialists of tube-riding and aerial surfing. The Vans Pipe Masters event will debut in December 2022, with physical event permits secured for three years (2022, 2023, and 2024).

In 2021, the World Surf League (WSL) announced a fully redesigned Tours and Competition framework, establishing the key venues and dates for the world’s best surfers moving forward starting in January at the world-famous Pipeline in Hawaii for the first-ever men’s and women’s joint Championship Tour event at that legendary break. The redesign of the WSL’s Tours and Competition framework left an opportunity for Vans to leverage its ownership of the event’s IP and evolve the event’s approach for future generations.

In anticipation of the event’s physical debut, Vans remains focused on uplifting the Triple Crown while building the 2022 Pipe Masters Invitational platform.

Registration for the 2021 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing will open on November 15, 2021. Visit and follow @vanstriplecrownsurf on Instagram to learn more and stay tuned to all the action happening live on the ground.

2020 Vans Triple Crown

2020 Vans Triple Crown

A unique year calls for a radical change! Vans is proud to reveal an historic evolution of the prestigious Vans Triple Crown of Surfing event series. Launching on December 21, 2020, the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing’s official contest format will be transformed into an innovative, digital, free surf competition experience.

Sanctioned by the World Surf League as a specialty digital event, the 2020 Vans Triple Crown will return to the fabled North Shore in Hawaii as an open, submission-based competition, hosted entirely online at The event will run for four weeks from December 21, 2020 – January 18, 2021, honouring winning titles for the Hawaiian Pro in Haleiwa, the Vans World Cup at Sunset Beach, and Pipe. The 2020 Vans Triple Crown series will expand the field to welcome men and women contenders from around the world to prove their talent in Hawaii by submitting their best waves for judging consideration.

With this new approach, the elite race for the coveted Vans Triple Crown Championship title becomes even more challenging, as a new, diverse competitive field emerges, and wave opportunities increase dramatically. Unlike traditional surf contest formats, this year’s Triple Crown will test competitors’ ability to demonstrate creativity, skill, and determination without the time constraints of a traditional heat match.

“In celebration of over 35 years of Vans Triple Crown of Surfing progression on the North Shore, the time could not be more suitable to re-visit the concept and re-shape its legacy for years to come,” said Bobby Gascon, senior director of global sports marketing at Vans. “The updated format strengthens Vans’ inclusive approach, elevating the brand’s commitment for women athletes, and increasing accessibility for all surfers, regardless of competition rankings. This format will showcase an exciting, undiscovered crop of rising surf talent in Hawaii and internationally, while upping the ante for surfers to master peak conditions of three of the best waves in the world.”

Featuring the three iconic surf breaks of the North Shore—Haleiwa, Sunset and Pipeline—125 eligible men and women competitors will submit footage of their best two (2) individual waves from each break, for a total of six (6) waves. With a total prize purse of $200,000 up for grabs, men and women winners will be crowned for each event, while the overall Triple Crown title contenders will need to earn top scores from all three breaks combined to claim the championship. Adding to the event’s online engagement, Vans has created a “Fan Voting” period of the contest window. Fans will have a seat in the judge’s booth by voting online to help determine who wins the first-ever digital Vans Triple Crown of Surfing title.

Official submissions will begin on December 21, 2020 and end on January 15, 2021. Vans will host a special digital award ceremony on January 18, 2021 to crown the winners of all events, and declare the two new 2020 Vans Triple Crown series champions.

In compliance with the state of Hawaii’s health and safety protocols, competitors are mandated to produce all submissions content safely, and with adherence to local public health guidelines. The new digital edition of the Vans Triple Crown series allows devoted surfing fans to witness the phenomenal progression of the Hawaiian surf community from a safe distance at home. The Vans Triple Crown legacy remains uninterrupted, cementing the North Shore’s reputation as the ultimate proving grounds for future champions and honoring the decades long traditions of Hawaii’s storied surfing heritage.

The 2020 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing will be hosted on from Dec. 21, 2020 – Jan. 18, 2021. Visit the website to learn more about competition dates, format, athlete registration, rules, regulations, and more. Follow @vanstriplecrownsurf on Instagram to stay tuned in to all the action happening live on the ground in Hawaii.