Imagine a place where the city shoots shadows into the sea. Where white sand beaches disappear into bright blue waters, and bright blue waters fold into some of the best waves on earth. Where the food is healthy and the people kind. Imagine songbirds singing and palm trees swaying in the breeze.

Now, imagine it ain’t all cliche – there’s a balance to everything we just brought up. Imagine this place has nightclubs and pies stuffed with meat and gravy. Imagine parties every nights, imagine casinos. Imagine seeing the sunrise for all the wrong reasons.

Stop imagining now – too much of that will turn you into a deadbeat or John Lennon.

This place exists. It’s called the Gold Coast, though it may be easier for you to refer to it as your next trip.


The Eddie is on!


Will John John round off an amazing season with another Eddie?. Pic WSL

Quiksilver and the Aikau family have worked constructively together for the past several weeks in an effort to avoid interrupting the 31-year track record of the event being held. With the support of The World Surf League (WSL), which will produce the event and manage the broadcast and media, the event will proceed.

Beginning in 1985, the Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau Big Wave Invitational has been an invite-only big-wave event that takes place at Waimea Bay on the North Shore of Oahu, where the late Eddie Aikau served as the North Shore’s first lifeguard. Opting only to run when conditions reach the 20-foot-plus range (Hawaiian scale—40-50 ft faces), The Eddie has only run nine times in its history. As a WSL specialty-sanctioned big-wave event, The Eddie has drawn a prestigious cross-section of the world’s finest watermen, including competitors from the elite WSL Championship Tour (CT). The event is famous for its traditional opening ceremony, live broadcast and incredible atmosphere.

“We are proud to see the tradition of The Eddie continue without interruption—a testament to our respect for Eddie Aikau, the Aikau family, the Hawaiian people, and the community at large. We are very grateful for the efforts and support of the Aikau family and the World Surf League under the leadership of Paul Speaker who have all worked very hard with our team over the past few weeks to come up with a solution”, said Pierre Agnes, Quiksilver’s CEO. Agnes added “Consistent with Quiksilver and the Aikau family’s wishes, we are pleased to confirm that the same stringent condition requirements we instituted when we inaugurated The Eddie 31 years ago will continue this year. We have every confidence that WSL’s greater involvement in the event this year will only improve The Eddie’s reputation as one of the world’s premier surfing contests.”

“The WSL has tremendous respect for the legacy of Eddie Aikau and the prestige of this special event in his honor,” Paul Speaker, WSL CEO said. “The League regards it as a privilege to support and participate in the Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau Big Wave Invitational event and we look forward to the upcoming winter season.”

Eddie Aikau surviving brothers and sister, Solomon, Clyde and Myra, expressed their relief at the Aikau Family, with the cooperation of Quiksilver, the World Surf League, and the City and County of Honolulu, were able to overcome the logistical and other obstacles that stood in the way of the Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau Big Wave Invitational being held this year in a manner that would maintain the integrity and Hawaiian spirit of the competition.

The Aikau Family’s strong commitment to keep Eddie’s legacy, aloha spirit, Hawaiian culture and Hawaiian traditions alive is at the heart of the surf contest named in his honor and the work of the Eddie Aikau Foundation. In that spirit, with women’s surfing reaching new heights, the Aikaus are excited to announce their decision to include a woman athlete on this year’s alternative list – the first in the history of The Eddie.

The invitation list this year is as follows: (listed first name alphabetical order)

Aaron Gold
Bruce Irons
Billy Kemper
Dave Wassel
Ezekiel Lau
Garrett McNamara
Grant Baker
Greg Long
Ian Walsh
Jamie Mitchell
Jamie O’Brien
Jeremy Flores
John John Florence
Kala Alexander
Kelly Slater
Koa Rothman
Kohl Christensen
Landon McNamara
Makua Rothman
Mark Healey
Mason Ho
Michael Ho
Reef McIntosh
Ross Clarke-Jones
Shane Dorian
Sunny Garcia
Takayuki Wakita
Tom Carroll

The alternate invitation list is used to replace injured or unavailable surfers from the invitation list. Alternate invitations will be offered in the order set out below:

Luke Shepherd
Kai Lenny
Nathan Fletcher
Noah Johnson
Nathan Florence
Ramon Navarro
Keali Mamala
Predro Calado
Jamie Sterling
Nic Lamb
Keala Kenelly
Danilo Couto
Mark Matthews
Kalani Chapman
Ben Wilkinson
Gabriel Villaran
Damien Hobgood
Kahea Hart
Ryan Hipwood
Carlos Burle
Kyle Shipman
Danny Fuller
Anthony Tashnick
Rusty Long

Event past winners:
1985/1986 : Denton Miyamura (Haw)
1986/1987 : Clyde Aikau (Haw)
1989/1990 : Keone Downing (Haw)
1998/1999 : Noah Johnson (Haw)
2000/2001 : Ross Clarke-Jones (Aus)
2004/2005 : Bruce Irons (Haw)
2001/2002 : Kelly Slater (USA)
2009/2010 : Greg Long (USA)
2015/2016 : John John Florence

Radical Times in France

Even just reading the word evokes a waterfall of thought. Wine. Cheese. Casual nudity. Croissants. Edible snails. More wine. Etc. Some of it’s cliché. Some of it’s correct. But all of it weaves together to create a mystique like nowhere else on earth.

We’re bringing the whole crew together to experience it all. Surfers, skaters, snowboarders, musicians and more. From Mike D of the Beastie Boys to Mike Feb of South Africa, we’re setting out to enjoy true France. We’re using ideas as our maps, inspiration as our atlas, and legends like Jeremy Flores as our eyes and ears. We’re doing it right. And you’re coming with us.

Starring Surfers:
Jeremy Flores – @floresjeremy
Kanoa Igarashi – @kanoaigarashi
Leo Fioravanti – @lfioravanti
Wiggolly Dantas – @wiggolly
Matt Banting – @mattbanting
Zeke Lau – @haynsupahman
Jesse Mendes – @jesse_mendes
Ramzi Boukhiam – @ramziboukhiam
Marc Lacomare – @marclacomare
Connor O’Leary – @connoroleary
Aritz Aranburu – @aritz_aranburu
Mikey February – @thevibesaregood
Kael Walsh – @kaelwalsh
Kehu Butler – @kehu_b




Carve Boardshorts Guide 2016

Boardshort Guide

Summer’s nearly here, that time when we can swap jeans and hopefully, if we’re really lucky, neoprene for a lightweight alternative. Boardshorts tick everyone’s box, they’re great for hanging out in and you never know if may even be warm enough to wear them in the sea this summer. This season brings a huge range of retro inspired designs combined with cutting edge technology. So  jump in and discover what’s on offer!